Browse by Categories
  Towns / Villages
  Arts / Crafts
  Business Directory
  Leisure Activities
  Photo Gallery
  What’s on
St Jarlath's of Tuam County Galway Ireland
Home Advertise Contact Us

Accommodation  ~ Hotels  ~ B&B  ~ Self Catering  ~ Hostels  ~ Restaurants 
Property  ~  Business Listings  ~  Attractions  ~  Activities  ~  Maps
Saint Jarlath   ~   Tuam
The town was founded by St. Jarlath and his legacy is very much alive today.
St. Jarlath, Bishop (Feast - June 6th) Jarlath is regarded as the founder and principle patron of the Archdiocese of Tuam. He belonged to the Conmaicne family, perhaps the most important and powerful family in Galway during that period. Jarlath was trained by a holy man and ordained a priest along with his cousin.
St Jarlath's wheel Tuam County Galway Ireland

He then founded the monastery of Cloonfush, just outside Tuam, and presided over that monastery as abbot-bishop. Later, Jarlath opened a school attached to the monastery, one which soon became known as a great center of learning.
St. Brendan of Clonfert and St. Colman of Cloyne were among his pupils at the school. Jarlath died around 550 A.D.


St Jarlath's Cathedral Tuam County Galway Ireland

Cathedral of the Assumption
The present Roman Catholic Cathedral was built in the 19th century between 1827 and 1836. The building of this Cathedral started when Dr. Oliver Kelly was Archbishop of Tuam. In 1832 the Cathedral was dedicated to "Our Lady Assumed into Heaven". Today it is known as The Cathedral of the Assumption. Archbishop Kelly died in 1834 and was succeeded by Dr. John MacHale who was Bishop of Killala at the time.

Archbishop MacHale completed the main entrance and bell tower in 1836 when the Cathedral was officially opened. It is interesting to note that the building of this Cathedral started two years before the passing of the act of Catholic Emancipation by the British Parliament in 1829.

Some interesting features of this Cathedral are the carved stone faces beside the clock faces and at the sides of the two blind windows at the front of the Cathedral. On the inside of the Cathedral the outstanding feature is the east window. The year the Cathedral was consecrated is noticeable in the upper region of the window. The four Evangelists are depicted along with Our Lady and the child Jesus which forms the centre piece. This Cathedral has undergone a number of renovations in recent times. In 1968 the interior was completely changed to bring it into line with the concepts which came from the second Vatican Council. In 1991 the sanctuary was redesigned with the style of the main alter and baptismal font becoming circular and being made of Wicklow granite. The most recent change in 1998 was the replacement of the old Christmas crib with a complete set of new figures in the traditional style and were donated to the Cathedral by the present Archbishop Most. Rev. Dr. Michael Neary.


Towns & Localities in County Galway

 Aran Islands | Athenry | Ballinasloe | Ballygar | Barna | Carna | Carraroe | Claregalway | Clarinbridge | Clifden | Clonbur | Corofin
Connemara | Corrandulla | Dunmore | Galway City | Glenamaddy | Gort | Headford | Kinvara | Leenane | Loughrea | Milltown | Monivea
 Mountbellew | Moycullen | Oranmore | Oughterard | Portumna | Renvyle | Salthill | Spiddal | Tuam | Turloughmore | Williamstown

home | towns | accommodation | B&B | hotels | self catering | arts | attractions | business | education | wap
employment | entertainment | festivals | genealogy | heritage | industry | leisure | links | maps | news | gallery
 political | property | restaurants | shopping | sporting | tourism | travel | weather | what's on | advertise | contact

Website designed by Western-Webs, Tuam County Galway Ireland 

©2007 County Galway Guide, all rights reserved